The Devil should have been wearing Schiaparelli all along

For Spring 12 Costume Exhibition, the Met features ‘Schiaparelli and Prada: Impossible Conversations’

photo: Schiaparelli and Prada: Impossible Conversations Met Exhibit
fashionblogcity.wordpress.com

While I’m never a big fan of Prada, I love Schiaparelli. So I came to check out the exhibit yesterday.

First off, you get to see a video clip of an imaginary conversation between the two. It’s directed by Baz Luhrmann which signals this is a big production with well calculated script and costume.

The idea of women from different time periods sitting at the same table and having conversations is not new, look up the play ‘Top Girls’ by Caryl Churchill. Ironically, it fits what Miuccia said during the clip about exotic elements of design: “it’s not new anymore.”

I find this video uninteresting and contriving, largely due to the fact that it is something not real, pretending to be real. What’s the point?

The exhibit layout is similar to what of Alexander McQueen last year. It has many rooms with each room falls under one category or central theme. Again, I don’t enjoy curators labeling designer’s designs. It’s very salesman-culture!

Nonetheless, I did enjoy the clothes, since I heart Schiaparelli so much, and managed to snap some photos.

May I mention some of the “bondage” headdresses were kinda out of place? LOL..

The whole exhibit makes me feel like a big plug for Prada, kinda disingenuous.. I mean, whatever!

Have you seen ‘A Therapy’ from them? That’s another big production directed by Roman Polanski.

What’s up with these Prada’s efforts of branding lately?

Fishy fishy!

This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment