Brun starts with ‘One’, while ‘New York’ is Faith’s rivalry

Ane Brun, with a powerful yet somehow vulnerable voice, is one of my newly discovered obsessions.

photo: Ane Brun
gangstersaysrelax.com

She has what I would call an element in between Feist and Florence. Born in Norway, Ane has stated that she is influenced by a mixtures of Scandinavian folk, classic, jazz and contemporary music. My favorite recording of Ane Brun is ‘One’.

It all starts somewhere
It all starts with one
Everything comes from something
It all starts with one

It all starts somewhere
It all starts with one
Nothing comes from nothing
It all starts with one

The song is a powerful kind of beauty.

Then my second newly discovered obsession is Paloma Faith.

photo: Paloma Faith
clothesandcamera.blogspot.com

She is quite fascinating. At 26, she is an accomplished singer, songwriter and musician. She also has starred in two feature films.

Paloma has an unconventional take on jazz infused pop via a dash of rhythm and blues. She has cited that she is influenced by Etta James and Billie Holiday. And like it or not, I can sense the Amy Winehouse moments in her songs.

I love her ‘New York’.

The days were long and the nights so cold
the pages turned and the tale unfolds
He’d left me for another lady.
She stood so tall and she never slept
There was not one moment he could regret
He’d left me for another lady

He took my hand one day and told me he was leaving, me disbelieving and

I, I, I, I, I, I, I, I had to let him go

Her name was New York, New York, and she took his heart away oh my

Her name was New York, New York, she had poisoned his sweet mind

And, I adore Paloma’s style!

Happy Fri from the Fashzone!!

^_^

This entry was posted in Fashion, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

